Results tagged “Bisto”

Bisto Award Winners - A Double Win For First-Timer

Chris Haughton, author and illustrator of A Bit Lost has been announced as the winner of the 21st Bisto Children's Book of the Year Award which comes with a prize of €10,000.

The winner of the Eilís Dillon award valued at €3,000 and which is awarded to a first time author or illustrator is also Chris Haughton for A Bit Lost. This is the first time in the history of the awards that both the overall and Eilís Dillon Awards have been awarded to the same person.

Other shortlisted titles:

Bisto Shortlist

Eoin Colfer - Airman
Ré O'Laighléis, Susan Edwards & Emily Colenso - An Phleist Mhór
Mary Finn - Anila's Journey
Siobhan Dowd - Bog Child
Áine Ní Ghlinn & Carol Betera - Brionglóidí
Kate Thompson - Creature of the Night
Roddy Doyle - Her Mother's Face
Kate Thompson - Highway Robbery
PJ Lynch (illustrator) - The Gift of the Magi
Oliver Jeffers - The Great Paper Caper

The Bisto Children's Book of the Year Awards, in partnership with CBI are presented annually in recognition of excellence in writing and/or illustration of books for young people. The awards are administered by CBI, the national organisation for children's books and sponsored by Bisto gravy. The awards are open to any children's book by an author and/or illustrator born or resident in Ireland, written in Irish or English and published between 1st January and 31st December each year.

The Awards will be announced at a reception on Wednesday, 20 May 2009 at No. 6 Kildare Street in Dublin.