Waterstones Children's Book Prize - The Shortlists

The Waterstones Children's Book Prize is in its ninth year and consists of three categories: picture books; fiction for ages 5-12; and teen books. James Daunt, Managing Director of Waterstones, said: "The diversity and quality of the shortlists demonstrates that the world of children's books is as exciting and innovative as ever."

The winner of each category receives £2,000 with the overall winner picking up an additional £3,000.

The 18 shortlisted titles are:

Picture Books:
Lunchtime by Rebecca Cobb (Macmillan Children's Books)
Rabbityness by Jo Empson (Child's Play)
Oh No George! by Chris Haughton (Walker)
The Worst Princess by Anna Kemp & Sara Ogilvie (Simon & Schuster)
The Journey Home by Frann Preston-Gannon (Pavilion Children's Books)
Can You See Sassoon? by Sam Usher (Little Tiger Press)

Fiction 5-12
The Wolf Princess by Cathryn Constable (Chicken House)
Atticus Claw Breaks the Law by Jennifer Gray (Faber and Faber)
Wonder by R.J. Palacio (Random House Children's Books)
The Secret Hen House Theatre by Helen Peters (Nosy Crow)
The Chronicles of Egg: Deadweather and Sunrise by Geoff Rodkey (Puffin)
Barry Loser: I Am Not A Loser by Jim Smith (Egmont)

Seraphina by Rachel Hartman (Random House Children's Books)
Skin Deep by Laura Jarratt (Egmont)
Insignia by S.J. Kincaid (Hot Key Books)
Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas (Bloomsbury Children's)
Ketchup Clouds by Annabel Pitcher (Indigo)
Geekhood: Close Encounters of the Girl Kind by Andy Robb (Little Tiger Press)