Short Story Competition Longlist

Short Story Competition Longlist

Ali Smith, Toby Litt, Mark Haddon, Orange prize-winning Helen Dunmore, Adam Foulds, Sarah Hall and Booker Prize-winning Graham Swift, are among those in the running for the £30,000 Sunday Times EFG Private Bank Short Story Award - the richest prize in the world for an individual short story.

12 out of the 16 stories on the longlist come from UK- based authors. In its previous three years, the Award has not yet been won by a Briton, with the top prize going to New Zealand, the USA and Ireland so far.

From over 500 entries the judges have arrived at a longlist of 16 - six women and ten men.

The 16 longlisted writers and the titles of their short stories:

Caroline Adderson - 'Erection Man'   
Junot Diaz - 'Miss Lora' 
Helen Dunmore - 'Spotted Dick'
Adam Foulds - 'Tunnelling'
Mark Haddon - 'The Gun'
Sarah Hall - 'Evie'
Cynan Jones - 'The Dig'
Philomena Kearney Byrne - 'Honda Fifty'
Toby Litt - 'Call it "The Bug" Because I Have No Time to Think of a Better Title'
Belinda McKeon - 'Eyes on Me, Eyes on You'
Mark McNay - 'Ten Years Too Late'
C D Rose - 'Arkady Who Couldn't See and Artem Who Couldn't Hear'
Ali Smith - 'The Beholder'
Graham Swift - 'I Live Alone'
Claire Vaye Watkins - 'Rondine al Nido'
Samuel Wright - 'Best Friend'
The winner will receive £30,000, and the five other shortlisted writers will each receive £1,000. The shortlist will be announced in The Sunday Times on 24 February.

The winner will be announced at a gala dinner at The Sunday Times Oxford Literary Festival on 22 March.