LIANZA announces the Children's Book Award Finalists for 2011 | Booksellers New Zealand

| No Comments

New Zealand Book Award Finalists Announced

LIANZA (The Library and Information Association of New Zealand Aotearoa) received over 100 nominations for their 2011 Children's Book Awards with the prestigious LIANZA Esther Glen award receiving the highest number of submissions by publishers.

The LIANZA Esther Glen Medal, New Zealand's longest running book prize, is awarded for a distinguished work of fiction for children. 

The LIANZA awards, which are given by Librarians for outstanding children's literature are for excellence in junior fiction, young adult fiction, illustration, non-fiction and te reo Maori. 

The full list of the LIANZA Children's Book Award 2011 Finalists:
LIANZA Esther Glen Award (Junior Fiction)
The Haystack by Jack Lasenby, (HarperCollins Publishers (NZ) Ltd)
Dreams of Warriors by Susan Brocker (HarperCollins Publishers (NZ) Ltd)
Sheep on the Fourth Floor by Leonie Thorpe (HarperCollins Publishers (NZ) Ltd)
Boy Zero Wannabe Hero by Peter Millet (Faber & Faber)
Shadow of the Boyd by Diana Menefy (HarperCollins Publishers (NZ) Ltd)
LIANZA Young Adult Award (Fiction)
Smiling Jack by Ken Catran (HarperCollins Publishers (NZ) Ltd)
Fierce September by Fleur Beale (Random House New Zealand)
Ebony Hill by Anna Mackenzie (Longacre Press)
Blood Lines by TK Roxborogh (Penguin NZ)
Lethal Deliveries by Ken Benn (Penguin NZ)
The Limping Man by Maurice Gee (Puffin)
LIANZA Russell Clark Award (Illustration)
The Moon and Farmer McPhee by Margaret Mahy and David Elliot (Random House New Zealand)
Quaky Cat by Diana Noonan and Gavin Bishop (Scholastic)
Hill and Hole by Kyle Mewburn and Vasanti Unka (Puffin)
The Fierce Little Woman and the Wicked Pirate by Joy Cowley and Sarah Davis (Gecko Press)  
A Dog Like That! by Janene Cooper and Evie Kemp (Duck Creek Press)
LIANZA Elsie Locke (Non Fiction)
Weird Wabbit & Friends/ Star Boy and Friends Series by Vasanti Unka (Penguin NZ)
The Life Cycle of the Pukeko by Betty Brownlie (Scholastic)
Sensational Survivors by Sandra Morris (Walker Books Australia)
The Kiwi Fossil Hunters Handbook by James Campton and Marianna Terezow (Random House New Zealand)
The Tui NZ Kids Garden by Diana Noonan and Keith Olsen (Penguin NZ)
Te Kura Pounamu (te reo Maori)
Mahiara by Sally Sutton, Illustrated by Brian Lovelock, Translated by Kāterina Te Heikōkō Mataira (Walker Books Australia)
Ngarimu: Te Tohu Toa by Andrew Burdan (Huia Publishers)
Rāwiri, Matiu, He Kura Te Tangata, He Ora Kai Te Kupu Series by Peti Nohotima (He Kupenga Hao i te Reo)
Manu Haututū by June Peka. Illustrated by Jo Thapa. Translated by Kāterina Te Heikōkō Mataira (Scholastic)
Kapa, Te Niu Series by Hana Pōmare and Heni Jacob (HANA Limited/ Te Tāuhuhu o te Mātauranga - Ministry of Education)
Te Mata o Tuna, a Hina rāua ko Mo'o Kuna by Hana Pōmare, Ellie-May Logan and Hēni Jacob (HANA Limited/ Te Tāuhuhu o te Mātauranga - Ministry of Education)

The 2011 Award Ceremony will take place in Wellington on Monday August 8th at Caffe L'affare, College Street. 

Leave a comment

About this Entry

This page contains a single entry by achuka published on June 2, 2011 8:29 AM.

Three in 10 UK children 'own no books' | Books | was the previous entry in this blog.

BabyBoo ~ For Sweet Little Babies is the next entry in this blog.

Find recent content on the main index or look in the archives to find all content.

Monthly Archives

OpenID accepted here Learn more about OpenID
Powered by Movable Type 5.2.2