School Librarian of the Year Award

| No Comments

SLA School Librarian of the Year 2010

This year, for the first time, two people have been awarded the honour of the SLA School Librarian of the Year.

At a celebration at the Mermaid Conference Centre in London on 4 October, M. G. Harris, author of children's book series "The Joshua Files", presented the awards to:
Kevin Sheehan - Offerton School, Stockport
Duncan Wright - Stewart's Melville College, Edinburgh

Previous winners joined the celebrations

From Left to right
2007: Ingrid Hopson - George Abbot School, Guildford
2009: Lucy Bakewell - Hill West Primary School, Sutton Coldfield
2010: Duncan Wright - Stewart's Melville College, Edinburgh
2010: Kevin Sheehan - Offerton School, Stockport
2008: Nikki Heath - Werneth School, Stockport
2006: Anne-Marie Tarter - Ripon Grammar School, North Yorkshire

Ginette Doyle, Chair of the Selection committee and Chair of the School Library Association
"Kevin and Duncan come from two completely different schools. Kevin's school has a
higher than average learning support register and more pupils eligible for free school
meals than normal. He makes his library fun; he goes beyond the book to entice
pupils in and demands that they respect the space so that it has become highly
valued. Duncan's school is more academic and he has ensured that the information
literacy ladder he helped to devise is at the heart of lessons, but he too, makes the
Library a fun place to be and engages disaffected readers with his enthusiasm for
other things than just the Library. Two exceptional librarians, working in different
ways to bring their libraries into the heart of the school and learning, we could not
decide between them. They are not joint winners, but each deserves the
accolade of SLA School Librarian of the Year."

The SLA School Librarian of the Year Award celebrates the essential work that school
librarians are doing at a time when school libraries are being closed at an alarming rate.
We were impressed by the passion and dedication of the librarians we visited and the
innovative and inspirational ways in which they bring books and an enthusiasm for
learning into the heart of the school and into the lives of children. We had a hard job
selecting a short list and feel that everyone on the Honour list should be celebrated."
The Honour List:
Sue Bastone - Licensed Victuallers' School, Ascot
Rebecca Jones - Malvern St James, Worcestershire
Shiona Lawson - Rothesay Academy, Isle of Bute
Denise Reed - Hurst Prep School, Hurstpierpoint, Sussex
Profiles of the six librarians are on the School Library Association website:

Leave a comment

About this Entry

This page contains a single entry by achuka published on October 4, 2010 9:45 PM.

Talking Digital in London (this time): The Bookseller Children's Conference :: Blog :: Nosy Crow was the previous entry in this blog.

Body clock: Niamh Sharkey - Diet & Fitness, Health - is the next entry in this blog.

Find recent content on the main index or look in the archives to find all content.

Monthly Archives

OpenID accepted here Learn more about OpenID
Powered by Movable Type 5.2.2