Hans Christian Andersen Award Jury Announced

| No Comments

The ten members of the Hans Christian Andersen Award Jury 2010 are as follows:

 Ernie Bond Professor of Children's and Young Adult Literature at Salisbury University, Maryland, USA.
 Karen Coeman Master of Art in History and publisher in Mexico City, Mexico.
 Nadia El Kholy Professor and Chair of the Department of English Language and Literature, faculty of Arts at Cairo University, Egypt.
 María Jesús Gil professional consultant for publishing houses, Madrid, Spain.
 Jan Hansson Director of the Swedish Institute fro Children's Books, Stockholm, Sweden.
 Annemie Leysen a lecturer, reviewer, critic and publicist from Heverlee, Belgium.
 Darja Mazi-Leskovar Associate Professor at the FERI, Media Communication Institute, Univeristy of Maribor, Slovenia.
 Alicia Salvi a professor of language and literature and an expert on children's literature at the University of Buenos Aires, Argentina.
 Helene Schär former director of the Baobab Children's Book Fund and editor of the Baobab series, Basel, Switzerland.
 Regina Zilberman is a children's literature specialist and former director of the Instituto Estadual do Livro, Porto Alegre, Brazil.

The candidates for the 2010 Awards will be presented shortly and the shortlist will be disseminated immediately following the Jury meeting. The winners will be announced at the IBBY Press Conference at the Bologna Children's Book Fair on Monday, 22 March 2010.

Every other year IBBY presents the Hans Christian Andersen Award to an author and an illustrator whose complete works have made an important and lasting contribution to children's literature. The Andersen Awards are the highest international distinction given to an author and an illustrator of children's books.

At its recent meeting in Bologna, the IBBY Executive Committee elected the international Jury for the 2010 Awards. The Jury comprises ten members who are nominated by the National Sections of IBBY. Jury President Zohreh Ghaeni (Tehran, Iran) will guide the process and preside at the jury meeting in March 2010. Former IBBY Vice President Elda Nogueira (Rio de Janeiro, Brazil) and IBBY Executive Director Liz Page are ex officio members of the Jury.

Leave a comment

About this Entry

This page contains a single entry by achuka published on April 8, 2009 7:00 PM.

Write Away - Matt Whyman was the previous entry in this blog.

Classical Association Award 2009 for Caroline Lawrence is the next entry in this blog.

Find recent content on the main index or look in the archives to find all content.

Monthly Archives

OpenID accepted here Learn more about OpenID
Powered by Movable Type 5.2.2