Ness Wins Teenage Prize

| No Comments

Teenage Prize Winner

Patrick Ness has been awarded the Booktrust Teenage Prize 2008 for his novel The Knife of Never Letting Go. Ness received a cheque for £2,500 and a trophy at the awards ceremony in London.

Ness, born in the United States, studied English Literature at the University of Southern California. His first story was published in Genre magazine in 1997 and in 1999 he moved to London. Ness taught Creative Writing at Oxford University for three years. He has published two books for adults, The Crash of Hennington

and the short story collection Topics About Which I Know Nothing.

The Knife of Never Letting Go, his first book for young adults, was published in May 2008.

The judging panel comprised four adults and five children. The children won their place on the judging panel by submitting the best entries to a Booktrust short story competition.

Amanda Craig, (Chair) journalist and novelist
Emma Sherriff, librarian
Julia Bell, author
John McLay, children's books specialist
Matthew Sawyer, young judge
Aniketa Khushu, young judge
Gabrielle Brooks, young judge
Zoe Miles, young judge
Thomas Harris, young judge

The Booktrust Teenage Prize was launched in 2003 to recognise and celebrate contemporary writing for teenagers.

Leave a comment

About this Entry

This page contains a single entry by achuka published on November 18, 2008 7:15 PM.

New Senior Buyer For Fiction And Children's At Borders UK was the previous entry in this blog.

Three New Reviews is the next entry in this blog.

Find recent content on the main index or look in the archives to find all content.

Monthly Archives

OpenID accepted here Learn more about OpenID
Powered by Movable Type 5.2.2