Canadian Book Award

| No Comments

The winner of the 2008 Canadian Jewish Book Award (The Frances and Samuel Stein Memorial Award in Youth Literature) is Out of Line: Growing up Soviet by Tina Grimberg (Tundra Books)

The Koffler Centre of the Arts in Toronto, has announced the winners of the 20th anniversary Helen and Stan Vine Canadian Jewish Book Awards. The Awards celebrate excellence in Canadian writing reflecting Jewish themes and subjects including history, fiction, Yiddish and other fields.

The 2008 winners are:

The Joseph and Faye Tanenbaum Award in History
Kasztner's Train: The True Story of Rezsö Kasztner, Unknown Hero of the Holocaust
by Anna Porter
Publisher: Douglas & McIntyre

The Beatrice and Martin Fischer Award in Fiction
A Sharp Intake of Breath
by John Miller
Publisher: The Dundurn Group

The Frances and Samuel Stein Memorial Award in Youth Literature
Out of Line: Growing up Soviet
by Tina Grimberg
Publisher: Tundra Books

The Samuel and Rose Cohen Memorial Award in Biography/Memoir
They Called Me Mayer July: Painted Memories of a Jewish Childhood in
Poland Before the Holocaust
by Barbara Kirshenblatt-Gimblett and Mayer Kirshenblatt
Publisher: University of California Press

The Abe and Fay Bergel Award in Scholarship on a Jewish Subject
Converts, Heretics, and Lepers: Maimonides and the Outsider
by James Diamond
Publisher: University of Notre Dame Press

The Abraham and Eve Trapunski Award in Yiddish Literature
Representing the Immigrant Experience: Morris Rosenfeld and the Emergence of Yiddish Literature in America
by Marc Miller
Publisher: Syracuse University Press

The Canadian Jewish News Award in Poetry
Laike and Nahum: A Poem in Two Voices
by Ruth Panofsky
Publisher: Inanna Publications and Education Inc.

The Canadian Society for Yad Vashem Award in Holocaust Memoir and Literature

Bits and Pieces
by Henia Reinhartz
Publisher: The Azrieli Foundation

This was an exceptional year for Canadian books reflecting Jewish themes. Over one hundred submissions were considered by a distinguished jury, chaired by writer Edward Trapunski, along with Cynthia Good, Sara Horowitz, Marjorie Gann, Judy Wolfe, Beatrice Fischer, Adam Fuerstenberg, Judith Ghert, and Dorothy Shoichet.

The Awards will be presented by the Koffler at a special ceremony in Toronto on June 4th at 8:00 PM at the Leah Posluns Theatre, 4588 Bathurst St. This free event is open to the public and all are welcome. Complete details on the event and all the winners are available at

Leave a comment

About this Entry

This page contains a single entry by achuka published on May 28, 2008 11:44 PM.

Correspondances... was the previous entry in this blog.

CLPE Poetry Award Shortlist is the next entry in this blog.

Find recent content on the main index or look in the archives to find all content.

Monthly Archives

OpenID accepted here Learn more about OpenID
Powered by Movable Type 5.2.2