Lianza Awards

| No Comments

Scoop: Winners announced - LIANZA Children�s Book Awards

The winners of the LIANZA Children�s Book Awards were announced on Monday night at an awards ceremony held at Wellington�s Michael Fowler Centre. The awards, encompassing New Zealand�s longest running book prize, celebrate excellence in children�s books... Elizabeth Knox is the winner of The Esther Glen Award for Dreamhunter. The Esther Glen Award recognises a work which is considered to be the most distinguished contribution to literature for children by an author who is a citizen or resident of New Zealand... Kevin Boon is the winner of The Elsie Locke Award (previously LIANZA Young People's Non-fiction Award) for his series Developments in New Zealand History. The Elsie Locke Award celebrates a distinguished contribution to non-fiction for young people.... ... Gavin Bishop is the winner of The Russell Clark Award for Kiwi Moon, which he both wrote and illustrated. The Russell Clark Award was first presented in 1975 and rewards the most distinguished pictures or illustrations for a children's book....

The judging panel for the LIANZA Children�s Book Awards 2006 was: Bob Docherty, (Panel Convenor) National Library, Christchurch; Katherine Chisholm, National Library, Palmerston North; and Annette Williams, Christchurch City Libraries...

Each of the LIANZA Children�s Book Award winners receives a medal and cheque for $1,000.

Leave a comment

About this Entry

This page contains a single entry by achuka published on October 11, 2006 7:34 AM.

Queen O' The Scene was the previous entry in this blog.

The End is the next entry in this blog.

Find recent content on the main index or look in the archives to find all content.

Monthly Archives

OpenID accepted here Learn more about OpenID
Powered by Movable Type 5.2.2