Whitbread Winner

| No Comments | No TrackBacks


Geraldine McCaughrean scooped a record-breaking third children's book award with Not the End of the World...

McCaughrean, who has written nearly 140 books, said it was good to prove she had not been a flash in the pan with her first Whitbread win in 1987. This book, for teenagers, was one of her most serious and had a "horrible topicality" in its story of Noah and vast floods.

But she was confident she would not prove the overall victor. "Two children's books have won in the last three years [The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time by Mark Haddon last year and The Amber Spyglass by Philip Pullman in 2001] and there won't be a third."

No TrackBacks

TrackBack URL: http://www.achuka.co.uk/achockablog/mt-tb.cgi/1090

Leave a comment

About this Entry

This page contains a single entry by achuka published on January 6, 2005 6:52 AM.

Mr Majeika Creator Dies was the previous entry in this blog.

Hypertag is the next entry in this blog.

Find recent content on the main index or look in the archives to find all content.

Monthly Archives

OpenID accepted here Learn more about OpenID
Powered by Movable Type 5.2.2