Andrea Deakin Awarded The IBBY Canada Aubrey Award

| No Comments

ACHUKA is delighted to pass on the news that the IBBY Canada Aubrey Award is to be presented to Andrea Deakin ( Alberta) and Chantal Vaillancourt (Quebec) for distinguished service to children's literature:

The Canadian national section of the International Board on Books for Young People (IBBY) is pleased to announce that Andrea Deakin and Chantal Vaillancourt are the recipients of the 2010 Claude Aubry Award for distinguished service in the field of children's literature.

Andrea Deakin will be presented with her Aubry Award in Edmonton on Thursday October 27th from 4:30-6:30 p.m. at the Bruce Peel Special Collections Library (Lower Level, Rutherford Library, University of Alberta). Chantal Vaillancourt will receive her Aubry Award at the Museum of Fine Arts in Montreal on Tuesday, October 25th at 7.00p.m., in conjunction with the gala presentation of the French language TD Canadian Children's Literature Award.

Andrea Deakin has promoted Canadian children's literature extensively throughout her career as a teacher, syndicated book reviewer, and correspondent for the UK review journal ACHUKA. In 2004 she was awarded an honourary doctorate from Okanagan University College. An online newsletter Andrea started in 2004 is now being published by the University of Alberta as an ejournal, The Deakin Review of Children's Literature. Andrea also curated and donated a collection of award-winning children's books to the library at Okanagan College in memory of her husband. A long-time resident of Salmon Arm, British Columbia, Andrea now lives in Edmonton.

Chantal Vaillancourt has worked for over 20 years in publishing and reading promotion. She was formerly executive director of Communication Jeunesse, and helped to create the Toup'tilitou reading program in daycare centres across Quebec. Since 2006, Chantal has been a consultant, including working with the Canadian Children's Book Centre as coordinator of the French-language TD Canadian Children's Literature Award, and managing the French-language component of TD Children's Book Week. She is actively involved in the TD National Reading Summits. Chantal lives in Longueuil, Quebec.

The Claude Aubry Award was established in 1981 in honour of the late Claude Aubry of the Ottawa Public Library. Two awards are now presented biennially by IBBY Canada for distinguished service in children's literature in English, and in French. Previous recipients include David Jenkinson, Charlotte Guerette, Peter Carver, Catherine Mitchell, Bertrand Gauthier, Michael Solomon, Ron Jobe, Virginia Davis, Judy Sarick, May Cutler and Sheila Egoff.

Leave a comment

About this Entry

This page contains a single entry by achuka published on October 3, 2011 8:38 PM.

Guardian Children's Fiction prize: the shortlist | Books | The Guardian was the previous entry in this blog.

Words We Say: Revisions, Copy-Editing and all that Jazz is the next entry in this blog.

Find recent content on the main index or look in the archives to find all content.

Monthly Archives

OpenID accepted here Learn more about OpenID
Powered by Movable Type 5.2.2