CLPE Poetry Award 2011

| No Comments

The winner of the CLPE Poetry Award for 2011 is Philip Gross for Off Road to Everywhere, illustrated by Jonathan Gross, Salt Publishing.

The presentation of the Award was made at the Centre for Literacy in Primary Education on Tuesday 5 July, 2011.

Off Road to Everywhere was described by Poet Laureate Carol Ann Duffy, last year's winner of the prize and a judge as, "an outstanding winner for this Award" while fellow judge Fiona Waters who is also a previous winner said, "This is wonderful stuff. Here are real, proper poems which are full of beauty and imagination. I loved it!"

Philip Gross is Professor of Creative Writing at Glamorgan University.

The CLPE Poetry Award which was judged this year by Carol Ann Duffy, Andrew Lambirth and Fiona Waters, honours excellence in poetry written for children. Previous winners include Jackie Kay, Roger McGough, Fiona Waters, Carol Ann Duffy, Grace Nichols and John Agard.

The 2011 award was sponsored by Travelling Books.

The other shortlised books...

Leave a comment

About this Entry

This page contains a single entry by achuka published on July 7, 2011 8:53 PM.

Branford Boase Award 2011 was the previous entry in this blog.

Book Of A Lifetime: Charlotte's Web, By EB White - Features, Books - The Independent is the next entry in this blog.

Find recent content on the main index or look in the archives to find all content.

Monthly Archives

OpenID accepted here Learn more about OpenID
Powered by Movable Type 5.2.2