Winners of IBBY-Asahi Reading Promotion Award Announced

| No Comments

The International Board on Books for Young People (IBBY) today announced the winners of the 2010 IBBY-Asahi Reading Promotion Awards. This is the 20th Anniversary of the award given by IBBY and the Asahi Shimbun newspaper company for international projects run by groups or institutions judged to be making a lasting contribution to reading for young people. The Award is given every other year to two organizations. The 2010 winners are
The Osu Children's Library Fund, Ghana,,
and Convenio de Cooperación al Plan de Lectura, Medellín, Colombia,

Each will receive $10,000 US, which will be presented at the 32nd IBBY Congress in Santiago de Compostela, Spain, at a special event on September 10th.

The Osu Children's Library Fund (OCLF) consists of two teams one in Canada and the other in Africa- that share the mission of bringing books and literacy skills to African children and adults. OCLF works at the grassroots level, seeking support and participation of elders and members of the host community.

Convenio de Cooperación al Plan de Lectura is a non-profit organization that encourages reading and literary creation by means of awareness, training and research programs, including workshops, storytelling and sessions with authors and illustrators.

Other nominees were:
Alola Literacy & Reading Programme, Dili, Timor-Leste
Indigenous Children´s Literature Writers´ Meeting, Brazil
Visible Readings for Invisible Children, Medellín, Colombia
Room to Read, USA
Kamishibai - To build a culture of peace in the world, Japan
Justita Arenas Reading Room, México City, México
Mama, Tata & ... Myself Campaign, Nowa Iwiczna, Poland
Roma People, invited to the library, Metlika, Slovenia
White Elephant / Domrei Sor, Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Akili Trust, Kenya

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]

Leave a comment

About this Entry

This page contains a single entry by achuka published on March 23, 2010 8:20 PM.

Anna Frank Award was the previous entry in this blog.

Hans Christian Andersen Award Winners is the next entry in this blog.

Find recent content on the main index or look in the archives to find all content.

Monthly Archives

OpenID accepted here Learn more about OpenID
Powered by Movable Type 5.2.2