Children's Book Award Shortlists

| No Comments | No TrackBacks

The shortlisted books for the 2005 Red House Children's Book Award in the three categories are:

Books for Younger Children
THE GRUFFALO'S CHILD by Julia Donaldson and Axel Scheffler (Macmillan, ?10.99)
OPEN WIDE by Tom Barber and Lynne Chapman (Chrysalis, ?9.99)
BABY BRAINS by Simon James (Walker, ?10.99)
THERE'S NO SUCH THING AS A GHOSTIE by Cressida Cowell and Holly Swain (Puffin, ?10.99)
Books for Younger Readers
CLARICE BEAN SPELLS TROUBLE by Lauren Child (Orchard, ?9.99)
BEST FRIENDS by Jacqueline Wilson (Doubleday, ?10.99)
THE LEGEND OF SPUD MURPHY by Eoin Colfer (Puffin, ?7.99)
Books for Older Readers
ERAGON by Christopher Paolini (Doubleday, ?7.99)
THE RECRUIT by Robert Muchamore (Hodder, ?5.99)
THE STAR OF KAZAM by Eva Ibbotson (Macmillan, ?12.99)

The winner of the Red House Children?s Book Award will be announced at a ceremony in London on Saturday 11th June.

Read on for Award background...

The Award was founded in 1980 by author and librarian Pat Thomson. Since then it has grown into one of the UK's most popular book prizes and still claims to be the only one chosen entirely by children. During the past year, 25,000 children from
Book Groups run by the Federation of Children?s Book Groups have taken part in the judging process. This year approximately 900 books were entered by publishers for the award. These were then sent out to the 12 Book Groups of the Federation of Children's Book Groups who then test the books and decide on a long-list of 50 titles. From this their shortlist of top 10 books is chosen.

The Award is a favourite with authors because children choose the books. Many of the previous winning books have become bestselling children?s classics including, Mister Magnolia by Quentin Blake in 1981, The BFG by Roald Dahl in 1983, The Jolly Postman by Janet and Allan Ahlberg in 1987, Double Act by Jacqueline Wilson in 1996 and Harry Potter and the Philosopher?s Stone by JK Rowling in 1998.

The category winners each receive an engraved silver bowl. The overall
winner is awarded the Red House Book Award silver tree to keep for a year, and an engraved silver acorn which is theirs to keep. Each of the shortlisted authors and illustrators receives a folder of drawings and writing by the children who have taken part in the judging.

No TrackBacks

TrackBack URL:

Leave a comment

About this Entry

This page contains a single entry by achuka published on February 21, 2005 7:16 PM.

Lebrecht Live was the previous entry in this blog.

Nick Gifford Feature is the next entry in this blog.

Find recent content on the main index or look in the archives to find all content.

Monthly Archives

OpenID accepted here Learn more about OpenID
Powered by Movable Type 5.2.2